#AsliEngineering

Testimonials for Arpit's System Design Masterclass


What people say about this course?

Some testimonials from the people who recently took this course.


Yashas P April 2022

So glad that I signed up for this course. Arpit has a very well curated topics which he covers in depth. From small nuances to big design decisions. This course has helped me move away from a developer mindset and look at systems at a holistic picture. I can now relate to the designs of so many systems I helped in developing.

Sulekha Maheshwari April 2022

This is the best cohort course when you want to understand how systems are actually designed and built. The course is designed in such a way that you will never feel this is beyond your grasp.

Every system starts with a naive architecture and you will be amazed to see the end system after discussing all tradeoffs. If you can’t relate to this course now, You will definitely find this course helpful somewhere in your career.

On a personal note, I was being introduced to several jargons and components which play a key role in Designing the systems. You are doing a Fab Job Arpit! Thanks a ton :)

Asutosh April 2022

“Your enthusiasm is contagious” - a fellow student said to Arpit on our last day of the cohort, and I couldn’t agree more.

  • It goes beyond what’s just needed for interviews and tries to address difficult design choice questions

  • The classes are well organised: They aren’t just a unidirectional flow of information. The students get to participate in brainstorming the problem statement, building them from scratch, and Arpit ensures to nudge us just enough to keep us on track, and more often than not, the students themselves only are able to come up with quite similar approach as Arpit later discusses. This is a really good quality of a teacher: not giving away the answer, but at the same time, making the students capable enough to arrive at the answers by themselves.

  • No class ends with a student having some doubt: At the end of each class, there is an open discussion, where all doubts related to the topics discussed are clarified, and then only the class is concluded.

  • What makes Arpit stand out from other instructors out there is that most of the content discussed in the classes, Arpit had first hand experience building similar systems in production. So, he is teaching from his practical experience.

  • Recently, he announced system design video library: All the best discussions for each problem statement would be updated here and all the new problem statements covered in the future batches will also be made available to all the students who had enrolled in any cohort. Life-long learning, what else can one ask for

  • One major learning was: We always think too ahead and complicate things. Repeatedly throughout the course, just how starting simple and iterating over it with common sense leads to good robust designs instills a lot of confidence in students, making them realise designing system is no rocket science, its just taking one step at a time, and being aware of the already available solutions out there and building on top of them.

  • And finally, like I mentioned in the beginning, apart from just the content of the course, there’s a lot more to it: I’ll highly recommend another fellow engineer just to be part of the discussions: the enthusiasm with which Arpit discusses in all the classes is something to witness. It takes you back to the point of thinking why all of us got started with software engineering in the first place: to get the sheer joy of building things. Down the line, its very normal to lose motivation or not feel as enthusiastic as we were when we were fresh out of college. Its really one of an experience to witness Arpit’s enthusiasm in all these classes, how he has sustained it for so long over these years, and if you look closer, it’ll tell you the BTS of making of a great engineer, what sets a great engineer apart from others: because of their ability to find pleasure and being hungry for more always.

Shivam April 2022

I can only say that taking this course has been a really great decision. It has far exceeded my expectations. I’ve never seen anything on system designs that goes this deep into talking the ‘what’ ‘why’ & ‘how’. What makes this cohort even better is that it’s not your classical ‘watch your instructor’ instead it’s more inclusive you’ll have all your doubts answered.

Roopam S April 2022

Great learning experience. Absolutely worth it.. Loved the content and brainstorming sessions.. I would definitely recommend it.

Vishal Dhawan April 2022

I almost envy Arpit. Not because of his financial success, (there are many financial successes out there for one to get envious) but because he is so in joy when he talks, teaches and brainstorms system design. Kind of like the Ikigai. Anyways thanks a tonne for explaining system design so beautifully 🙏

Pratik Pandey April 2022

Arpit’s cohort is the answer for everyone who want to genuinely learn(or grow their knowledge of) how to design highly scalable & resilient systems, not just how to crack system design interviews.

Arpits’s approach of problem solving, starting from the ground up, asking “WHY” for every design choice, big or small. Arpit makes you think of that one remote performance improvement scenario and it’s this attention to detail, that makes Arpit’s cohort truly unique and informative.

Couple the above with the cohort’s diverse thought processes and experiences, and you get yourself a fabulous learning environment. I cannot remember one session post which I didn’t have any new takeaways/learnings.

The cohort has been the best part about my weekends, and I definitely recommend it to everyone!

What you get - Amazing Mentor, Great discussions/Brainstorming sessions & #AsliEngineering concepts!

Deepak Mathuria March 2022

This course is certainly the best for anyone who wants to go in-depth on the High-level design of multiple scalable architectures in different domains.

I had done one-on-one with Arpit and come to know that this guy is really passionate about learning new stuff in the depth and finds real joy in teaching other people this amazing stuff. His funda is “Ek hi zindigi hai, seekh lo jitna seekh sakte ho”. He regularly reads research papers to go in-depth just so that he can understand and make others understand.

Coming back to the course, since a lot of iterations have already happened over the past 1 year and I have also attended the March-April cohort, I can ensure you that you won’t go empty-handed no matter how much experience you have. You will definitely get to know the behind the scene working of some of the amazing systems. For me certainly, this is one of the best investments on myself in the past 2-3 years.

Saivivek Valluru March 2022

Undoubtedly one of the best educational content! Arpit’s love towards system design is infectious. One will definitely fall in love with system design after his cohort. He makes complex concepts look very easy with his good analogies which will make core concepts stick to mind for long time.

Thanks Arpit for doing such great job! Definitely blockbuster movie for system design must attend 😊😊😊

Ajith M V March 2022

Thanks for the amazing course. The amount of depth and breadth you are going into for each problem statement is just mind-blowing. You are a real inspiration and a true gem. Thankyou very much for spreading the knowledge. The cohort-based structure of the course really helps.

It was amazing to see how each and every time you align the thoughts of all the participants into the most ideal solution. Learned many new concepts during the last 2 months. Wishing you and your family all the very best!!!

Abhishek Jain March 2022

I would recommend this course to everyone who are still looking out for mentors who can teach how amazing engineering is. I joined this course not from an interview perspective but i wanted to know the bigger picture on how different systems are scaled to a million users, and definitely i got to learn a lot.

I can confidently say Arpit’s approach to teach system design is exceptional, you cannot find this kind of content on any youtube video or MOOCS. Personally, this has been an inspirational 2 months for me where I got to know exactly how we can approach engineering problems and what resources to go through to brush our skills. His passion for engineering is contagious and if you want to know Asli engineering inside out then this is a must join cohort.

Abhishek March 2022

This course was the highlight of my weekends for the past two months. I’ve been exploring system design content for quite some time and after going through a lot of content, I must say Arpit does full justice to the time people invest in his course. Arpit does not shy about going to a detailed analysis of any system, he makes sure that every possible doubt that comes into your mind is resolved during the session and later in the open forum session. I found this very useful as Arpit’s extensive background in industry and academia gives him the ability to go as in-depth as you want when answering your questions. Be it databases’ internal implementation, operating system quirks or hardcore computer architecture question, Arpit knows his stuff really well.

Small cohort size and interactive brainstorming sessions helped me to get quick feedback on my design decisions. This made sure that the session was not just a one-sided lecture but an exchange of ideas amongst the peers. The cohort had people form different domains and varying experience - I used to search for the technologies and jargons people floated in the discussion which gave me an amazing exposure.

Initially, I joined this course to become comfortable in system design interviews but later I realised that the main intention of the course is core engineering and detailed analysis of systems, which you might miss if you’re simply studying system design for interview purposes. Cracking interviews is a favourable byproduct of this course and not the sole intention. Thanks Arpit, I thoroughly enjoyed this course.

Hardik Somani March 2022

The course lives upto the hashtag #AsliEngineering, and not just cracking interviews. The depth and nuances that Arpit covers in each system that we design is worth the time spent on the course. The add-on benefits of a great community and networking is also great.

Amulya Holla March 2022

This course definitely lived up to its name - VERY LEGIT - “#AsliEngineering”. These classes became the highlights of my weekends.

Arpit has designed the course in such a way that you will be able to relate the content of every class to its next one. He wouldn’t straight up give you a solution with random jargon nor would he recommend using one technology over other without proper reasoning. He rather conducts brainstorming sessions where he nudges us to come up with solution. While doing so, he discusses the tradeoffs, he encourages to see the patterns and reuse the solutions discussed/built in the previous classes.

I highly recommend taking this course. It is a course worth investing your money and time on.

Ankit Sanghvi March 2022

This course challenged my fundamental understanding of systems designing & made me appreciate the beauty, intricacy & logic of software at scale. Arpit is a natural teacher & passionate tech evangelist who will start from the ground-up & then refine your concepts with this hands-on-engineering journey.

Vaibhav Jain March 2022

To start with, this has been one of my best decisions in life to join Arpit’s cohort. Despite there being “too many sources for system design on the Internet” as people say, I haven’t seen a single course or educator talk about an in-depth dissection of a given system and questioning different alternatives for even small micro-decisions, which are very critical and which Arpit covers in great depth for all the problem statements.

The aim throughout the course is to build intuition and a strong foundation. With a cohort-based model, learning increases multiple folds and it feels like a day-to-day technical discussion that you have with senior folks at work, which makes it the most fun part of all.

There are people with varied experiences here, and you get to learn from their experiences as well as get to connect with them, which is an added advantage. The “cost - driven development” mantra, as Arpit says in every design discussion, is an aspect that I have seen no one touch upon, and it is something that leads to very exciting discussions and approaches.

Arpit’s energy and passion for computer science are infectious and something that rubs off on everyone in the cohort, leading to great brainstorming sessions. I would personally recommend this course to anyone who loves backend engineering and computer science in general to be a part of great technical discussions, not just for the sake of interview preparation, but to learn and have fun while building systems!

At least I did for the same reason :)

Rakshith Shetty March 2022

Arpit has the knack of breaking down a very complex problem into simpler and smaller understandable components. The problem statement followed by the solution is communicated very clearly and in a structured way. The live sessions unfold so beautifully that you don’t realize that you have been listening to someone for 2.5 hours straight.

One of the nicest attributes about Arpit other than being brilliant at his field is that he shares the knowledge without being condescending. My approach to work has certainly changed after the cohort. Thanks for the knowledge, keep up the great work.

Shrey Batra March 2022

Honestly, this is one of the best courses I have been in till date. I thought I would probably know like 60% of the topics, but as and when we are completing this, I can be sure that I knew no more than 30% of topics discussed.

Some topics, systems, designs are so fabulous, using the same things we use everyday, and seeing them work and make our systems fault tolerant were mind blowing.

The delivery of the lectures, making it interactive, the efforts in building the notes, discussing all the points and also teach us more than engineering - How to be a “better” engineer and ask the right questions, think on the right lines is what motivated me the most and I got from this cohort.

This I feel would make me go a long way in my personal career space, just because of the “mode” of content delivery. Seeing youtube videos / reading articles or theory doesn’t make sense till the time you actually solve a problem. Even if these were on calls, they looked like actual Product Development calls we have in office where we design something from scratch, thinking about everything.

Thanks for the efforts you put in and helped me and the community. :)

Saurav Shaw Jan 2022

I will highly recommended taking System Design masterclass by Arpit, on the very beginning you will realize how fun it can be to learn such a advance topic in such a organized manner, and Arpit is the only bhaiya you should follow if u want to learn #asliengineering.

Parvinder Singh Jan 2022

I found Arpit through linkedin posts, where he shares technical insights about db, architecture and system scalability. Later I get to know about his system design course and I want to join that immediately as I already had some idea about his knowledge depth and passion for teaching. After joining the course I’m exposed to many new concepts which I didn’t know previously also the passionate way of teaching kept the whole batch engaged and helps us all to gain in-depth knowledge of system design.

I would recommend this course to any tech enthusiast who has interest in system design. Thanks Arpit for such a great time.

Anmol Singh Jaggi Jan 2022

One of the most useful courses I have ever taken as a software engineer.

There are a lot of system design resources out there but I found all of them to be lacking depth. This course had both breadth as well as depth.

I feel much more confident while designing real-life systems, both at my job, and for interviews. This course improved my intuition on what design patterns and technologies to use for a problem that might appear repeatedly in different systems.

Impressed with the passion and energy Arpit brings to the sessions consistently. Lastly, grateful to be a part of a cohort that shared lots of creative insights and ideas. Beware that the course is quite fast-paced and a few years of experience would help you absorb it in a far better way. I will definitely need to revisit the recordings once :)

Ronak Mutha Jan 2022

Arpit’s enthusiasm for teaching is contagious. It’s not a course, but it gives you a glimpse into the realm of system design. It gets better every week, and it’s brilliantly curated. It was one of the most memorable experiences of my life.

There will be no slides or presentations, but there will be effective whiteboarding sessions. It helped me have a better knowledge of system design patterns. It’s not every day that you get to learn from engineers like Arpit, so I consider myself fortunate.

Arpit is a rare find. If you haven’t already signed up for this masterclass, please do so right now.

Ankit Jan 2022

Finally a course that’s not obssessed with cracking interviews and is about actually building something. My biggest learning from this course is that it introduced me to engineering blogs and the ocean of information that’s lying in there.

Abhishek Kumar Jan 2022

I will highly recommend everyone to Arpit’s System Design master class and I feel that it was one of my best decision in my life to attend his master class.

Dharan Aditya Jan 2022

I am in my early stage of my career, i took a bet on this cohort just our curiosity and desire to learn how to make things work at scale. Trust me, It is a gem a of course, worth investing your time and money. It is not like any any other course out there, reason Arpit. Aprit has simplified and presented the concepts in such a way, improved understanding concepts & whitest covering design complexities. It has broaden my understanding to approach design problems at scale. It’s not everyday you get to meet and learn from Engineers like Arpit, i am glad that i meet and learned from.

Alok Jan 2022

Really great course. Highly recommended specially for people starting out to learn system design.The course is well structured and covers many major concepts in great detail.Also, Arpit is awsome at expaling stuff.

Nikhil Neela Jan 2022

Arpit’s passion towards teaching and depth is designing systems is simply amazing. His teaching and way of presenting concepts always brought an ‘Aha’ moment. The course is so nicely organized and linking concepts from earlier sessions into future sessions helps to correlate and augment learning. I would 100% bet my time and money on this course anytime.

Swapnil Gupta Jan 2022

I have worked and also learnt from Arpit in the past, and have always enjoyed it.

I wanted to refresh my knowledge and learn more about system design and I am very happy with my decision. Even though I had a busy travel schedule, I would always tune in somehow to join in the live class to feel the team discussion vibe again.

I love the energy he has, and the attitude towards problem solving.

Questions and discussions are highly encouraged and the ecosystem he has built towards this community is amazing.

8 weeks of intense master class - covering so many different aspects of system designs, something rarely most of us get to touch in real life even with years of experience.

Highly recommented. This is #AsliEngineering.

Maza aaya. insert Rahul Gandhi meme here

Mohammed Kashif Jan 2022

I will start from the beginning. I have been following Arpit on LinkedIn, reading his blogs and YouTube videos, etc., since quite some time. What really struck out to me was the fact in every video he was covering topics that were not usually covered by people who were targetting for interviews. Just take a look at his CPython tutorials on YouTube and you will undestand what I mean. You could see genuine interest for engineering and breaking things apart to understand how they work only to put it back together and build it again from the scratch. This is what really caught my interest. You don’t see that interest usually in other engineering or CS related blogs. This course was no different.

Right from the beginning he made it pretty clear this is not some course you would use for your interview prep but rather expand upon your software engineering understanding. Even before day 1, he shared topics and reading material saying that you should come prepared after reading these topics in order to understand whats going to be discussed in the classes. The best part that I liked about his classes were, that he approached every system design problem with a Day 0 approach and then build upon the scaling part. I mean, it was not like “Hey, this is the most optimal solution with some jargon thrown around”, but rather, “This is our problem, lets build the most basic solution possible, and then try to scale it up and understand concepts while we do that.”. His energy is downright contagious when he is explaining difficult topics. I have seen him answer the most basic questions and go to extreme lengths to explain rather difficult topics in a very basic manner. My favourite lecture by far was Distributed ID Generators. Such a simple concept, such a simple design and he just nails every concept in the head. You would genuinely be amazed at his ability to spark that curiosity inside of you to search for the solution yourself.

Additionally, he takes effort to make the class as engaging as possible. It’s not like, he will go on blabbering for 2-3 hours continuously and take questions or queries in the end. No, he makes sure that people are engaged, he keeps asking questions about the solution, poking holes and making us question the design ourselves. You must have heard about some Physics/Chemistry/Maths teachers who make the class so interesting and genuinely develop curiosity for those subjects in the students mind. Arpit, does exactly that for system design. He genuinely has a passion for teaching.

I really enjoyed my time in this course. There are lot of things that I have to learn from my end to fully grasp the concepts and implement the concepts that I learned, and thanks to Arpit, I know where to look for them now :D

To summarize, 12/10 would highly recommend this course :D.

Dhiren Mathur Jan 2022

The course makes you go back to basics and learn the foundational concepts of how systems work. It teaches you how to approach system design in a manner that makes it seem natural. I can definitely say that it’s helped me develop an “intuition” for designing systems at scale. Especially designing systems with compliance/analytics in mind, and understanding the kind of tradeoffs that could be made at different levels of scale (startup vs enterprise) etc. The learning from rabbit holes you fall into while reading about something you heard in class is a “feature” in itself.

Kiran Raj S R Jan 2022

TLDR - Arpit’s enthusiasm!

However, if you want my detailed testimonial it is below.

Top to bottom approach based learning - Instead of learning what cache is, what load balancer is. He picks a problem, designs a solution that is acceptable for Day 0, then introduces failures using scale/reliability/… and introduces these components to solve the failures.

Arpit neither spoon feeds you nor gives you just an overview of things. He explains concepts that are theoretical (for example: log based file system) and pushes you to experiment few things to learn yourself (for example: reservation systems using different kinds of locks). Arpit wants you to feel the same magic he felt when implementing these systems.

Every problem feels like a typical interview question and answer, but he has some gotchas or wow moments which make you realize this is so cool (from his past experience). And best part is he tries to push everyone in this direction and make them answer instead of giving the answer away.

Arpit also explains the philosophical side of engineering, why you shouldn’t over engineer things on Day 0, how technology inspires from real-world (he explained how flash sale happens offline and how it mimics the similar behavior) and makes it fun throughout.

Though Arpit does 90% of the things, you still need to do 10% which will help you in long run, 1. Read the pre-reads that he shares every week. 2. Ask questions - Arpit loves answering them even if it is dumb. Also, one question doesn’t have one correct answer. Express your thoughts about the problem/solution, Arpit will listen, learn and improvise it for next cohort. He added at least 2 new cool stuff based on learning from the past cohorts. 3. Take note of keywords or new concepts and explore them later. 40 hours is never enough for Arpit to teach you everything. 4. Try to implement whatever is possible. 5. Schedule 1:1 with him anytime to discuss more.

Deepankar Roy Jan 2022

Truly a ‘Masterclass’ in Systems Design. Arpit is very passionate about the subject and it has been awesome learning from him. Highly Recommended!

Rahul Jan 2022

The course is amazing. I had a lot of doubts about designing system and most of there were solved. Arpit is amazing in taking time to address the doubts. He has given a good thought in creating the structure of course. This course is one of the best investment for a software engineer to upgrade his system design skills.

Ruchika Salwan Jan 2022

This course is a gem! Arpit’s way to telling complex concepts in an intuitive and simple way is sign of an amazing teacher! The brainstorm discussions are such a good learning time! every class discussion was like an aha moment! You would get to know such complex system being built using the same patterns as building blocks. The course helped in building my confidence and technical depth :)

Shivam Srivastava Jan 2022

I encountered Arpit’s course in November and enrolled in January cohort. I was really hyped about this course as I had previously seen his “How to scale notifications”. The best part about the course is the first principles thinking, the intuition behind why a particular decision is taken in designing the system. Finally a course which doesn’t black box anything, and gets into the depth of each and everything. Highly recommend!

Shubham November 2021

Given the flood of courses on system design, I was quite cynical of another system design course and investing time in it. Arpit was quick to debunk that this wasnt a course but a cohort, this wouldnt be a course that aims to equip you to better at interviews but looks at the fundamentals of systems and teases out patterns that could be applied everywhere.

True to his pitch, the cohort went into deep details of why systems behave the way they do & how to develop a framework for building these systems. There are lots of engineers who know a lot of tech, but only a handful who can articulate it and even few who can weave a story and a structure out of it - Arpit evidently is part of the latter. His ability to connect the dots, probe on the blind sides and massage the concepts out of the pain points spoken in discussion is quite marvellous.

Manoranjith November 2021

One of the best learning experiences I ever had.

In the the 8 weeks, Arpit takes the cohort through a series of discussions starting from fundamental ideas around system design and explains how to apply them in a various contexts.

Each week was only better than the previous. The discussions usually started with a clear description of the problem to be solved, followed by an open ended discussion and then an extensive discussion of the optimal solution. The best thing about this approach is that, it helped me understand the thinking that could have possibly gone behind designing a particular system, rather than just understanding how it was designed.

Another aspect is that, most resources on the internet either focused on the high level ideas on designing a system or on the specifics of how to implement a system/feature using a particular product. But, in these course, Arpit blends both these aspects very well. It helped me gain a holistic understanding of the high level design, what products can be used, why and how to use them.

On a personal note, Arpit is a truly curious engineer and a passionate teacher. He is genuinely interested in sharing the knowledge and insights he has gained over the past few years and takes a lot of effort in doing it in the best possible way.

Rakshit Tiwari November 2021

The course structure for this CBC is curated in a fantastic way. Cherry on top of that is Arpit’s passion while teaching (even any complex topic like algorithmic systems) which really helps generate more curiosity while going in depth and brainstorming about anything.

Unlike most videos on YT or essays/blogs which people generally follow for system design, this course contains discussion of very specific systems and goes in depth of what can break at scale and how one should build with these problems in mind. Be it topics like designing your own S3, load balancer, your own search engine, it has been quite a journey to learn how to build such massive systems with first principles.

Another great thing is the community of people attending this course which makes the discussions 10x better. There are very experienced senior engineers attending this course alongside who have built stuff for a huge scale and its pretty amazing not to learn just from Arpit but also their collective experience.

Abhishek November 2021

The course is so crisp and detailed. It was a terrific experience to be join this course.

Arpit has really put out a lot of efforts in creating this course and knows in-depth of each system. It covers each design in a great depth with multiple solutions for each case and thats the best part of it.

The way Arpit first creates a base and then puts everthing on top of it which makes a design intuitive for everyone and very easy to understand. Concepts is focused here so that later when some new requirements come, there will be a way to figure out on own about how to design it.

Atul Nene November 2021

Arpit’s cohort involves

  • A collection of current and highly relevant software design issues of scale, in the industry

  • Problem solving from simple to more complex takes students through all nuances and gives deep understanding

  • Brainstorming sessions where everyone participates with their thoughts with enough space for questions and clarifications

  • Arpit’s enthusiasm and his conversational style that is friendly and encourages participation

  • Both online as well as offline modes are super convenient for busy, working students

A rare course that contributes to engineering maturity in the tech space. Highly recommended, especially for experienced techies! It is one of the best re-learning decisions I made in the recent past.

Akshay November 2021

Being form non-CS background and having worked for 6 years in semiconductor domain, I did not have any prior experience of designing/working on large scale systems. When I switched domain, I also decided to take this course and I have enjoyed it throughout the span of 2 months.

It’s not just the content of the course but also the way Arpit delivers it. He always starts from day 0 architecture and gradually builds on top of it. There are no buzzwords thrown around or random assumptions made. You will not only learn new things but also get some of your preconceived notions corrected. Also there were many “wow” moments during the course which are invaluable. There are tonnes of YouTube videos on system design but none of them come remotely close to this cohort.

The only negative feedback I have about the course is that it ends.

Mahendhar November 2021

Arpit is a brilliant and passionate engineer who will help you with building the intuition behind each and every system design he discusses. He makes sure everyone understands the problem and also the live brainstorming sessions have good participation. His cohort is attended by brilliant and well accomplished people themselves which makes this cohort all the more valuable.

I can confidently say I lost the fear of system design now because of this cohort.

Jay Vasant November 2021

You might ask, is it HLD, LLD, or the internals of all major systems? It’s real engineering at its best, thanks to the precise problem statements which artfully places foundational topics at the core of scalable systems. As a whole it covers all the standard practices along with extensive discussions about approaches so that no doubt remains unresolved.

Thanks to these discussions, I now have a clearer picture of thinking about and observing the recurring patterns in scaling systems better than ever, along with memories of interactions with peers having years of experience and wisdom.

Vaibhav November 2021

One of the best courses i have ever attended. Arpit’s knowledge in system design is commendable and his research and composition in this course material is concise and to the point that it provokes several parallel thoughts and gives you a ready to use tool-kit to tackle any types of system.

Most of the system design courses out there mostly talk about company driven architecture such as how Netflix tackled this problem vs how Google handled this. But the beauty of this course is that every class starts with one basic problem statement, common design pattern, different area of concerns( front end, backend, caching, DB), separation of concerns, then deep dive into one of the most relevant and problematic areas you could face in that type of system, how to solve them and then finally go to details about how this use-case could be applicable to these many systems.

This gives you a building blocks to handle any system based on the need rather than sticking to the pre-defined approach about how one leading company did it.

Another best part of this course is the classroom discussions:- 30-40 highly skilled and driven engineers are coming together in one forum, asking questions, sharing their knowledge and discussing system design problems which can not get any better.

Gaurav Jaiswal May 2021

One of the best courses out there on system design. I really liked Arpit’s way of explaining complex problems in simple way. Course Structure is well organised , alongSide you get to learn with amazing set of people. Course Certainly made me a better engineer. I am already using Arpit’s teachings at my work.

And the cherry on top - I was able to crack SDE 2 interview at Walmart, Apna, Swiggy, BukuWarung, DealShare.

My best investment ever :)

Kushal Mahajan September 2021

Arpit is a gold standard as an instructor. The discussions are on-ground and will discuss the things which are beyond 101. I have been directly able to map a few lectures ( read use cases ) to my job. I am a frontend engineer and most things are a learning to me. But having experience of system design implementations with me peers, it will surely take an edge.

More than the courses, you will be overwhelmed by his enthusiasm, clarity with breadth and depth. I believe, I have found the person I can look upto and have a chat about the things which actually improve the internet. I will invest anytime in a person which shapes the thinking patterns than just delivering the knowledge.

Kishor Pawar May 2021

First time had the great experience with someone providing online education. Live class interaction really helped. Not only learned from you Arpit, but almost everyone in the class. Not only you learn the concepts from Arpit, but you also learn the way he learns, and it’s contagious. One of the best decision I had taken to join Arpit’s cohort.

Bhargav September 2021

The system design course by Arpit is a great one for a number of reasons. It covers a wide range of topics, design paradigms and building blocks necessary to build a distributed system. For every system design topic discussed in the sessions, it is built from ground up starting with a simple model (which everyone brainstorms together) which is then iteratively enhanced to overcome limitations until the end design meets all the requirements such as scalability, availability etc. This exercise in my opinion is the most useful thing that I got from the course as it builds such a great intuition when you have to design a complex system from ground up and when you look at some popular distributed systems in use, you will know how they were built or what design patterns might have been used.

Since this is a cohort, you benefit greatly from the discussions that happen during the brainstorming segment of the class where you learn from other people’s diverse experiences and of course the 1:1 sessions with Arpit are invaluable.

Overall, I would highly recommend this course to anyone, at any stage in their careers who is interested in learning how to design distributed systems. This is indeed a fun course.

Preeti Pranayeta September 2021

Course was an eye opening for me with lots of real world experiences that we face while implementing systems.Every session need to be revisited so as to understand effectively.Arpit makes sure to walkthrough the science behind building the system design.I simply loved the course and this implants a curiosity of learning everyday within us.

Harshit Agarwal September 2021

I had initially registered for the 2nd cohort, but did not end up going through with making the payment as I thought it was too expensive. Now, after having finished the course as part of 4th cohort - I think this was probably the best investments I have made in my life !

This course taught me to think of system design from a first principles perspective. It taught me about how to use smaller simple systems as reusable building blocks for larger systems. Arpit’s enthusiasm is infectious and he’s an excellent teacher. I learnt a lot from not just him but also from other people in the cohort. 👌🏾

Jimit Gandhi September 2021

The breadth of the systems covered as part of Cohort is really amazing. I learned so many systems which I didn’t have much clue about earlier like Stream processing, Log Structured storage and many more. The enthusiasm with which Arpit conducts the sessions helps create curiosity.

The most important part is that Arpit helps build the intuition to learn system design and uses building blocks to build systems gradually. This cohort is a value addition for experienced professionals to build Large scale systems and develop know-how for making trade-offs for design choices.

Sai Subramanyam Chittilla September 2021

Arpit is a passionate individual who teaches one of best system design course, his explanation comes from real implementation and exposure to the problem. He makes sure that individuals in his cohort develop critical thinking when approaching system design.

I would highly recommend his course for any one who tries to build systems to scale.

Naman Bhalla September 2021

The way Arpit delivers his content shows his experience, enthusiasm and love for the topics he is teaching. He shares his experience over multiple years of career and reading multiple blogs, papers etc. with everyone. The problem statements discussed are very practical and cover advanced topics related to large scale system design very well.

He takes a pragmatic approach to the problems and comes to the solution via foundational principles. The assignments are quite challenging so be ready for a lot of fun building them!

Anshul Saxena September 2021

Taking this course has turned out to be one of the best things I’ve ever done in my software engineering career.

Arpit has changed everything for me and helped me to develop intuitions for designing the systems at scale. This course was a perfect mixture of theory that we needs to know for understanding and designing massive systems, and real world examples for implementing those concepts.

This course is not like any other courses out there, its not one way video based communication as it is cohort based, it provides the experience of solving the problem in real world like a team of 45 engineers working together to solve a problem which in itself was a awesome experience .It was a great learning experience for me and would recommend the course to everyone who wants to develop understanding of how massive systems functions.

Shashank Tiwari September 2021

In this course, you will learn topics and building blocks that will help you design any system. Along with this, you will also get to know the trade-offs of one component over the others.

There is always something new to learn things like Live streaming using CDN, implementing the KV store using MySql, and building a word dictionary were eye-opening for me.

The two best parts about the course are the discussion and brainstorming between the amazing folks of Cohorts and the 1:1 mentorship from Arpit.

Overall if you are prepping for interviews you will get an amazing head start. Or if you want to get better at system design in general this is the best thing you have got.

Absolutely, worth the money and time, highly recommended 🙂.

Karan Kapoor September 2021

I had come across the essays written by Arpit in his blog and the system design videos on his YouTube channel, which were quite detailed and offered a crisp explanation, due to which I decided to join the cohort. The entire cohort is designed in a way that the concepts learned during the initial few weeks get used in the later parts. I loved Arpit’s methodology of not just approaching a system from a bird’s eye view but instead going into details of how it could be implemented as well, and trying to dissect every aspect of what can go wrong, and brainstorming over how it could be dealt with.

Even in a problem that seemed simple at the surface, there was always something new to learn. The cohort structure enabled a great community of folks to come together and collaborative learning happened. The mechanism of teaching is very different from several other courses or content that I have gone through in the past. It was ensured that none of the questions were left unanswered, even if that meant stretching the session by an hour. Going the extra mile made a lot of difference in the overall experience. The part I loved the most was having thorough discussions with the entire cohort about a single topic or problem, which made the overall experience quite fun.

The entire session was surely challenging with all the assignments. You would learn a lot of new concepts and get several rabbit holes to explore, which would catalyze the learning journey.

Sandeep July 2021

The course is very intensive, some sessions need to watch 2-3 times to get good understanding of the topic.

Arpit made the sessions beautiful with all the experience he had in building large scale systems. 1. Loved the brainstorming sessions that happened for an application and pros and cons discussion of every decision by an individual done by Arpit is really Good. 2. Some sessions are like iterative building blocks of an app from scratch is eye opener on many concepts. ex: building word dictionary. 3.Its not bounded only to curriculum mentioned but new system designs has come into picture and session went for 3hrs. Content Worth the price!!

Shivam July 2021

The biggest selling point of the course is Arpit’s genuine love and enthusiasm towards designing systems , I feel like I’ve become a better engineer.

Sanjith Joseph July 2021

Arpit has great working experience with distributed systems and he brings out his experience in very engaging discussions. He actively encourages collaboration during class to help us think on our feet. He is quite generous with time and often veers off the planned route for impromptu discussions.

Chandan Nayak July 2021

After watching many YouTube videos and going through the available materials ,I wanted to strengthen my knowledge pertaining to system design, then came across this amazing course, which helped me to think better when it comes to scalable system and touched upon many missing points of YouTube videos, Hands down the best system design course I have encountered.

Manav Desai July 2021

Arpit’s masterclass for engineers is like cartoons for kids. You JUST CANT MISS IT ! You’ll be surprised every single week by how real systems are built. The knowledge this guy has, you’re missing out if you aren’t picking his brains. Totally recommended.

Sarthak Sahu July 2021

Enrolling in this course was one of the best decisions I have taken in my life. As the name suggests this truly is a ‘Masterclass’. The content is crisp, very engaging and the discussions are fun and of very high quality. The breadth and depth of topics covered would definitely help in work as well as interviews.

I had the chance to take few 1:1 mentorship sessions as well and collected some valuable wisdom from those sessions. Very few courses out there leave such an impact and this one definitely made me a better engineer.

And the cherry on top - I was able to crack SDE 2 interview at Coinbase :)

Umang July 2021

One of the best courses out there on system design, not to mention the learning alongside the amazing set of people who have been a part of the course.

The one best thing about the course is the cohort based approach which ignites discussion when different people dives into with their real world experiences and pitches in their solutions, adding more depth to every system design.

Even if someone has watched all the system design videos out there, there would be moments of amazement and would help connect the dots to various pieces of puzzles out there in production systems.

The final cheery on top is the Mentorship session which Arpit provides for any abstract discussions outside the course content as well. Its was not just about learning designing a ‘xyz’ system but to build an intuition, and the building blocks needed to tackle a problem statement one might come across leveraging the content and experience which Arpit provides and eventually target to be a better Software Engineer.

Nubra Jarial May 2021

The course was very enriching and made me think about software design in unexpected ways. There are so many systems that we take for granted and don’t look into - load balancers , cloud storages, database engines etc. even though they’re often the ones doing the heavy lifting in enterprise applications.

Arpit provides great insight into why things are the way they are and also introduces some neat spinoffs! Completely worth both the time and money!

Akanksha Singh May 2021

The course was like a roller coaster ride. At start Arpit will be explaining basics, and at the very next moment you’ll realize he is making you answer high level concepts. Arpit is delivering his years of experience and research in this course.

At start of course, even after reading/watching so many resources , I wasn’t sure of system design. By the end of this course I have already started implementing system design’s lego blocks and have so many ideas which i want to implement and test myself.

Ujjwal May 2021

Wish this cohort never ended. The enthusiasm with which Arpit teaches, his engineering adventures with large scale systems and his patience to handle even the most fundamental doubts makes this cohort special !

Abhijit Jain May 2021

I appreciate not only the depth and breadth of topics covered but also Arpit’s friendly teaching style and patience. The topics covered in class were non-trivial but were introduced perfectly like they were lego blocks - smaller components adding up to bigger and better systems.

What sets this masterclass apart is the focus on designing systems the way a real company would do (think companies you admire, eg FANG). This is a course that’ll improve your design thinking, empower you to ask the right questions and help you make the right tradeoffs for your system. Highly recommend!

Saurav Daruka May 2021

System Design Masterclass was a very immersive, interesting and a completely unique asset to learn System Design. The course structure was clear, logical and effective. Arpit is an expert Technologist and has obviously put a lot of thought and expertise into designing the course. But it wasn’t just about the knowledge. Additional benefits came from doing assignments, receiving individual feedback and interacting with Arpit and other participants.

My perspective has been changed in the way I look at Systems now. I didn’t just learn “how” to design systems – “what” and “why” also became much clearer. Investment of time, effort and money on this course is a value add to my skills and it made me a better Software Engineer!

Shitiz Bhutani May 2021

I found this course useful as it provided me with a lot of breadth in System Design with appropriate depth. I really liked Arpit’s way of explaining complex problems in a neat and simple way. The course structure is organized in such a way that you can easily connect the dots. I highly recommend it.

Nityananda Gohain May 2021

One thing I can guarantee that after this course you can read any kind of system design book/blog with confidence and you will be able to relate to Arpits classes in someway or the other, also Arpit designed the course in such a way that you will be able to relate to previous classes and bring out patters in solving problems. My best investment ever :)

NY May 2021

The kind of concepts which Arpit taught were really impressive and it helped me to understand the building blocks for different kinds of systems, making trade offs while choosing one component over the others. Arpit also encourages everyone to participate in the discussions. Arpit possesses incredible knowledge, energy and enthusiasm. He explains the concepts in simple yet effective manner.

Ganesh Iyer March 2021

Course is awesome! Lots of incredible stuff packed in 8 weeks. Helped me crack Principal Engineer interview at Microsoft.

Aman Agarwal March 2021

A true masterclass with flavors of evolving solutions, interesting peer discussions. A great learning experience not just for interviews but for real. The openness to speak our minds out is the best part. #PaisaWasoolExperience

Tejas Agrawal March 2021

Had a super fun in learning how to learn and think system design. I am already using Arpit’s teachings at my work, and I don’t think anything more needs to be said.

Rohan Chougule March 2021

It’s easy to throw jargons and assume that a system can be built. But then keeping things simple and starting from the basics, the approach to be taken, taking baby steps, and then heading towards a direction is indeed best taught by Arpit. Plus, his enthusiasm!

Vineet Mago March 2021

Arpit has done a wonderful job wading through complex design issues faced for designing systems at scale. Personally, for me, I loved interacting with the members of the cohort, understanding how each one of us approached the problem at hand. And then, in the end , Arpit would explain the right trade-offs to make and finalize a solution. I loved it, highly recommend it for folks who are looking at expanding their horizons on system design.


August 2022 Cohort

68 seats remaining

Starts 6th August, 2022

9:00 to 11:30 am IST on Weekends


During the live sessions, you will learn the intuition behind building scalable systems from Arpit. You will also be interacting with the entire cohort and learning from their experiences.


Enroll Now

₹29,999 $475

inclusive of all the taxes


YOU'LL GET


40+ hours of Live Classes on Weekends IST

Three 1:1 Mentorship Sessions

Lifetime access to all the cohort recordings

Access to all the systems we ever discuss

Lifetime access to the Network and Community

Open forums and interaction with the cohort

Doubt resolution during and post live sessions

International learners

please drop an email at arpit.masterclass@gmail.com and I will share the PayPal and the Bank Details for the wire transfer.


Indian learners

can directly make the purchase through their Credit Cards, Debit Cards, EMI, UPI, and Netbanking.



If you have questions or need any clarifications before enrolling, please reach out to me at arpit.masterclass@gmail.com.

Learn at your own pace

40+ hours

16 session recordings

~28 questions covered


You will get access to the recordings of the completed sessions from the April 2022 cohort; so that you binge watch quickly and prepare yourself for the task at hand.


Buy Now

₹27,999 $450

inclusive of all the taxes


YOU'LL GET


All the recordings from April 2022 cohort

Three 30-mins 1:1s (within 60 days from purchase)

Lifetime access to all the cohort recordings

Access to all the systems we ever discuss

Lifetime access to the Network and Community

International learners

please drop an email at arpit.masterclass@gmail.com and I will share the PayPal and the Bank Details for the wire transfer.


Indian learners

can directly make the purchase through their Credit Cards, Debit Cards, EMI, UPI, and Netbanking.



If you have questions or need any clarifications before enrolling, please reach out to me at arpit.masterclass@gmail.com.


Arpit's Newsletter read by 15000+ engineers

🔥 Thrice a week, in your inbox, an essay about system design, distributed systems, microservices, programming languages internals, or a deep dive on some super-clever algorithm, or just a few tips on building highly scalable distributed systems.



  • v11.0.1
  • © Arpit Bhayani, 2022